Itinerary

I will begin my trip on Monday, August 15. My hike will consist of 18 days on the trail, including an optional rest day at Muir Trail Ranch, should I need one. My starting point will be in Dana Meadows, at the Mono/Parker Pass trailhead. This trailhead is approximately 4 miles east of Tuolumne Meadows and offers a great start for those who have already done the beginning of the JMT from Happy Isles. It is also one of the easiest starting points to obtain a reservable permit. Simply pick your date and call. Its that easy!

I will join the JMT at the end of the second day at Rush Creek. After a brief distance on the JMT, I will leave the trail on the top of Island Pass and head southwest to the west side of Thousand Island Lake, where I will connect with the Sierra High Route.  I will stay on the SHR until I pick up the Minaret Lakes Trail at Minaret Lakes, which will take me back to the JMT, just north of Devil’s Postpile.

After picking up my first re-supply at Red’s Meadow, I will head south along Crater Creek, then east along Fish Valley, past Iva Bell Hot Springs, until I once again join up with the JMT for the last time at the Goodale Pass trailhead, just north of Silver Pass.

Two days and 26.8 miles later will find me at Muir Trail Ranch, where I will pick up my final re-supply (9 days of food and provisions) and take an optional rest day, if I feel I need one.

From Muir Trail Ranch, I should arrive at the top of Mt. Whitney on or about Thursday, September 1 and complete my hike at Whitney Portal later that day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Itinerary

  1. John says:

    UL,
    Since you’ll be hiking some miles that are not a part of the official JMT, what do you estimate your total trip mileage to be? Just curious.

    John

  2. Jim Ennis says:

    John,
    According to the maps, the total mileage should be 209.7 miles. I’m taking my GPS with me, so after I get back, I should have a fairly accurate mileage to report.
    Jim

  3. John says:

    Thanks, UL. I did a little research and found the official trail length is 211 miles plus 11 miles from the summit of Whitney to the Portal…….a very scenic journey. (I’ve viewed Sean’s plus others on Trailjournals.)

    John

Leave a comment